West Lothian 50+ Network – French for Beginners

Beginners French

Group Leader: Alex Aitken
Meet: Wednesday 2.00pm to 3.30pm in the West Lothian 50+ Network Office

This class has been running for some 3 years. It is run in a very informal way: minimal grammar, no homework, no need to take notes (unless you want to). It is not school and there are NO lessons as such, so if you miss a week, it is always possible to catch up. I tailor my lessons depending on which students turn up to my class on the day – some had no French at all and others had taken French, but several decades ago at school.

My methodology is to teach the “rules”, but in a simple way. It is a conversational class and focusses on the “sound” of the language rather than how the language is spelled. I follow the methods of Michel Thomas, who was a very successful teacher of many foreign languages.

Many of the teaching aides that I use I have written myself and I try to use many different programs including simple French books.
If anyone is interested in joining a “complete beginners French class”, give your name to the office and if there are enough numbers, I will consider running another beginners class.

Diary Dates 2019

Members Monthly Meetings:

Saturday 21st Sept

Saturday 16th Nov

Coach Trips:

Sunday 29th September – Scone & Perth

Saturday 5th October – Walking Day in St Andrews

Wednesday 23rd October – Pitlochry & the Enchanted Forest

Tree Planting & Sausage Sizzle at Beecraigs: Sunday 22  September

Thrift Shop : 25th Sept – 2 October

Network Choir Concert: 7th & 8th October

Coffee Morning & Craft Fair: Saturday 19th October

Race Night: Thursday 31st October

St Andrew’s Dinner: Sat 30th November

Kristmas Krackers Concert: 12th December

Christmas Party: Sat 21st December

Holidays:

Seville: 7 – 14th October

Chester Christmas Markets: 22 -24th November

The Isle of Skye & The Kyle Line: Fri 3rd April – Tues 7th April 2020

Get in Touch

Tel: 01506-635510
Email: wlothian50plus@btconnect.com
Facebook: @westlothian50plusnetwork

Hits: 46