West Lothian 50+ Network – French for Beginners

Beginners French

Group Leader: Alex Aitken
Meet: Wednesday 2.00pm to 3.30pm in the West Lothian 50+ Network Office

This class has been running for some 3 years. It is run in a very informal way: minimal grammar, no homework, no need to take notes (unless you want to). It is not school and there are NO lessons as such, so if you miss a week, it is always possible to catch up. I tailor my lessons depending on which students turn up to my class on the day – some had no French at all and others had taken French, but several decades ago at school.

My methodology is to teach the “rules”, but in a simple way. It is a conversational class and focusses on the “sound” of the language rather than how the language is spelled. I follow the methods of Michel Thomas, who was a very successful teacher of many foreign languages.

Many of the teaching aides that I use I have written myself and I try to use many different programs including simple French books.
If anyone is interested in joining a “complete beginners French class”, give your name to the office and if there are enough numbers, I will consider running another beginners class.

Diary Dates 2020

Members Monthly Meetings:

Saturday 21st March

Saturday 18th April

Saturday 16th May (AGM)

Saturday 20th June

Daffodil Tea: Sunday 15th March

Social Evening – Darts, Dominoes & Pool: Weds 25th March

Sunday Coach Trips in 2020:

Sunday 29 March: Culross & Dunfermline

Sunday 26 April: Glamis & Dundee

Sunday 31 May: Culzean Castle, Ayrshire

Sunday 28 June: Alnwick

Sunday 25 July: Border Union Show, Kelso

Sunday 16 August: North Berwick

Sunday 6th September: Dundee Flower & Food Festival

Sunday 25 October: The Wallace Monument & Stirling

Holidays:

The Isle of Skye & The Kyle Line: Fri 3rd April – Tues 7th April 2020

Walking in Portugal – 1 – 8 November 2020

Harrogate & Grassington Christmas Market: 4-6 December 2020

Coffee Morning & Craft Fair: Saturday 17th October 2020

 

 

 

Get in Touch

Tel: 01506-635510
Email: wlothian50plus@btconnect.com
Facebook: @westlothian50plusnetwork

Hits: 114