West Lothian 50+ Network – Genealogy Group

Genealogy Group

Group Leaders: Betty Mooney/ Allan Dungavel
Meet: Wednesday 10.00am to 12.30pm in the I.T. Suite of the Partnership Centre

We take great pleasure in taking people back through the ages to research their Family Tree. In some cases, on this journey, it can pull at your heartstrings. You may find sadness in discovering that one of your Ancestors had ended up with their family in a Poor House. In days gone by, if you lived for example in a “tied” house, such as a miner’s cottage, should your husband be killed in a pit disaster or by natural causes within a few days the family would be put out of the house along with any furniture with nowhere to go. Some had parents who could take them in, along with your children but in many cases their houses were full with their own young children.

On the happier side you may find aunts and uncles, cousins, even in some cases a brother or a sister, which you never knew existed. On getting in touch with them, your family is immediately extended, which can bring great happiness and joy. To aid people on this “trip of a life time” and see the joy, when they find out about their Ancestors, gives us as much pleasure as them. It is also a wonderful thing to pass this information down to the next generation and the next and so on.

Life is full of surprises and many can be found on this journey. One of our past members said “this journey has opened doors I never knew were possible, including meeting family members I never knew I had.”

There is a waiting list at the moment but as one person completes their family tree a vacancy becomes available.

 

Diary Dates 2020

Members Monthly Meetings:

Saturday 21st March

Saturday 18th April

Saturday 16th May (AGM)

Saturday 20th June

Daffodil Tea: Sunday 15th March

Social Evening – Darts, Dominoes & Pool: Weds 25th March

Sunday Coach Trips in 2020:

Sunday 29 March: Culross & Dunfermline

Sunday 26 April: Glamis & Dundee

Sunday 31 May: Culzean Castle, Ayrshire

Sunday 28 June: Alnwick

Sunday 25 July: Border Union Show, Kelso

Sunday 16 August: North Berwick

Sunday 6th September: Dundee Flower & Food Festival

Sunday 25 October: The Wallace Monument & Stirling

Holidays:

The Isle of Skye & The Kyle Line: Fri 3rd April – Tues 7th April 2020

Walking in Portugal – 1 – 8 November 2020

Harrogate & Grassington Christmas Market: 4-6 December 2020

Coffee Morning & Craft Fair: Saturday 17th October 2020

 

 

 

Get in Touch

Tel: 01506-635510
Email: wlothian50plus@btconnect.com
Facebook: @westlothian50plusnetwork

Hits: 166