West Lothian 50+ Network  – Mahjong

Mahjong

Group Leader: Willie Webster
Meet: Thursdays at 2.00 – 4.30pm at Rosemount Gardens Complex, Bathgate

Mahjong is a tile-based game which was developed in China in the Qing dynasty and has spread throughout the world since the early 20th century. It is commonly played by four players and is similar to the card game rummy. It is a game of skill, strategy, and calculation and involves a degree of chance.

The game is played with a set of 144 tiles based on Chinese characters and symbols.

It is very seldom that we have everyone there at once – generally 6 – 12 turn up. Some can only manage every second week, some frequently fall foul of that dreaded scourge of retired members (holidays) and others pop along when they feel like it. All are welcome when it suits with no pressure on attendance. The only real rule is to enjoy it. The members are friendly, sociable, helpful but also, very quickly, as skills develop, they become determined to win.

 

Diary Dates 2020

Members Monthly Meetings:

Saturday 21st March

Saturday 18th April

Saturday 16th May (AGM)

Saturday 20th June

Daffodil Tea: Sunday 15th March

Social Evening – Darts, Dominoes & Pool: Weds 25th March

Sunday Coach Trips in 2020:

Sunday 29 March: Culross & Dunfermline

Sunday 26 April: Glamis & Dundee

Sunday 31 May: Culzean Castle, Ayrshire

Sunday 28 June: Alnwick

Sunday 25 July: Border Union Show, Kelso

Sunday 16 August: North Berwick

Sunday 6th September: Dundee Flower & Food Festival

Sunday 25 October: The Wallace Monument & Stirling

Holidays:

The Isle of Skye & The Kyle Line: Fri 3rd April – Tues 7th April 2020

Walking in Portugal – 1 – 8 November 2020

Harrogate & Grassington Christmas Market: 4-6 December 2020

Coffee Morning & Craft Fair: Saturday 17th October 2020

 

 

 

Get in Touch

Tel: 01506-635510
Email: wlothian50plus@btconnect.com
Facebook: @westlothian50plusnetwork

Hits: 140