West Lothian 50+ Network The Network Singers

The Network Singers

Group Leader: Vanda Collins
Meet: Thursday evenings, 7.00pm to 8.30pm in the Answer Centre, Whitburn

The Network Singers have been in existence for about seven years and will shortly have a permanent home for their concerts in Armadale Church Hall. The choir consists of a group of men and women who enjoy singing together. There is no audition when joining the choir – only enthusiasm and a feeling for enjoyment are required! At the moment membership stands at 34 and there is no waiting list. Members pay £5 a month to cover the cost of hall rental and other expenses. We socialise at choir dinners, beetle drives, quizzes, special birthdays, etc.

Our excellent Musical Director is Yvonne Drummond whose energy and drive inspires us all. She has worked wonders with us. Her aim is for us to present a concert roughly every eighteen months. These concerts have been produced with a choir of school children joining The Network Singers.

We also sing in local residential care homes and at some West Lothian 50+ Network functions, as well as having a Carol Concert at Christmas for Network members.

We meet on Thursday evenings, taking time off at Christmas, Easter and during the summer holidays. Where possible, we share cars which means that non drivers can usually be accommodated. Cars travel from the Livingston, Bathgate, Armadale and West Calder areas.

A choir committee deals with concert programmes, future events, resources, etc.
Anyone interested in joining the choir or seeking further information regarding it should initially contact the 50+ Network office.

 

Diary Dates 2019

Members Monthly Meetings:

Saturday 15th June

Saturday 17th August

Saturday 21st September

Saturday 16th November

Coach Trips:

Sunday 26th May – Loch Katrine & Callander

Sunday 30th June – Alnwick Castle & Gardens

Sunday 28th July – Berwick-on-Tweed

Sunday 25th August – Floors Castle/ Kelso

Wednesday 23rd October – Pitlochry & the Enchanted Forest

Social Evening & Beetle Drive: Thurs 30th May

25 Cycles in the Bathgate Procession: Saturday 1st June

Dementia Awareness Workshop: Wednesday 5th June

Car Treasure Hunt: Sunday 14th July

Hat Decorating Workshop (for the Garden Party): Tuesday 13th August

Garden Party: Sunday 18th August

Tree Planting & Sausage Sizzle at Beecraigs: Sunday 22  September

Thrift Shop : 25th Sept – 2 October

Network Choir Concert: 7th & 8th October

Coffee Morning & Craft Fair: Saturday 19th October

St Andrew’s Dinner: Sat 30th November

Kristmas Krackers Concert: 12th December

Christmas Party: Sat 21st December

Holidays:

Walking in Mallorca – 9th to 15th May

Seville – 7th to 14th October

Theatre Trips: 

TBC

Get in Touch

Tel: 01506-635510
Email: wlothian50plus@btconnect.com
Facebook: @westlothian50plusnetwork

Hits: 0