West Lothian 50+ Network – Trips

Over the years the West Lothian 50+ Network has organised day trips to visit a very wide range of attractions and events.

New events are added regularly, so please look out for details of future outings.

Upcoming Day Trips:

Coach Trip to Culross & Dunfermline

Sunday 29th March 2020

The village of Culross is a former royal burgh in Fife, believed to have been founded by Saint Serf during the 6th century. Once a bustling 17th century port on the Firth of Forth, its quaint streets have been used as a film location for several films including Kidnapped, The Little Vampire, The 39 Steps, as well as many episodes of the TV series Outlander.

We have arranged an exclusive guided visit to Dunimarle Castle and Gardens, an 18th century mansion house which occupies a spectacular setting in an elevated position overlooking the Firth of Forth. It will take in the house, the grounds and St Serf’s Chapel.

In Dunfermline you’ll find restaurants and cafes for lunch as well as a number of visitor attractions such as Dunfermline Abbey, the Andrew Carnegie Birthplace Museum and the gardens of Pittencrieff Park.

Coach Trip to Glamis & Dundee

dand, unday 26th April 2020

Glamis Castle has been the ancestral seat to the Earls of Strathmore and Kinghorne since 1372 It is the childhood home of HM Queen Elizabeth the Queen Mother and birthplace of HRH Princess Margaret.

An expert guides will help you follow in the footsteps of Mary, Queen of Scots, James V, Bonnie Dundee, the Old Jacobite Pretender to the throne James VIII, the ill-fated Janet Douglas and tell the story of the bitter-sweet life of Mary Eleanor Bowes.

NOTE: Glamis do not allow photographs or rucksacks to be taken on the tour, and there are a number of stone steps to negotiate and no lift.

Visit also the Italian Garden,  the Walled Garden. the Nature Trail  and the innovative Macbeth Trail.

Dundee attractions include: the V&A museum (free entry), Discovery Point (RSS Discovery); the Verdant Works (jute industry museum), and the McManus Gallery. 

Network members enjoy a wide variety of trips:

March 2018 – Men’s Group visit to Dunfermline Heritage Quarter
April 2018 – Splendours of the Subcontinent at the Queen’s Gallery
May 2018 – Day trip to Culzean Castle
June 2018 – Day trip to Peebles

Diary Dates 2020

Members Monthly Meetings:

Saturday 21st March

Saturday 18th April

Saturday 16th May (AGM)

Saturday 20th June

Daffodil Tea: Sunday 15th March

Social Evening – Darts, Dominoes & Pool: Weds 25th March

Sunday Coach Trips in 2020:

Sunday 29 March: Culross & Dunfermline

Sunday 26 April: Glamis & Dundee

Sunday 31 May: Culzean Castle, Ayrshire

Sunday 28 June: Alnwick

Sunday 25 July: Border Union Show, Kelso

Sunday 16 August: North Berwick

Sunday 6th September: Dundee Flower & Food Festival

Sunday 25 October: The Wallace Monument & Stirling

Holidays:

The Isle of Skye & The Kyle Line: Fri 3rd April – Tues 7th April 2020

Walking in Portugal – 1 – 8 November 2020

Harrogate & Grassington Christmas Market: 4-6 December 2020

Coffee Morning & Craft Fair: Saturday 17th October 2020

 

 

 

Get in Touch

Tel: 01506-635510
Email: wlothian50plus@btconnect.com
Facebook: @westlothian50plusnetwork

Hits: 413